RSS

Bible commentaries are awesome!

19 May

 (there — I said it!!)

What works for me when preparing for Sunday School lessons are commentaries

I love, love LOVE Bible commentaries.  A Bible commentary is a reference tool which compiles the works of theological scholars in the interpretation of Scripture.  My Bible study soared to new heights when I was introduced to the wonderful world of commentaries in my applied hermeneutics class!!  Good commentaries give you historical, biographical, contextual, geographical…FANTASTICAL notes about Scripture.  I started off with Matthew Henry’s commentary – an oldie, but a goodie, and then began working with several others, such as the Expositor’s Bible commentary. 

Other resources that also served me well:

Interpretation

Westminster’s Bible Companion

Oxford Bible Commentary

For more information on commentaries, check out www.bestcommentaries.com

 
 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
